We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Holotropic Guitar - 20th Anniversary Edition

by Phi Yaan-Zek

Orchid 05:30
Collapse 05:57
Seldom Known 06:28


Last year I had the idea to remix and remaster this album for a 20th Anniversary reissue, so I went back to my original 8-track cassette master tapes - yes most of this material was recorded on a Yamaha MT8X 8 track recorder and mixed onto DAT via a Yamaha ProMix 01 digital desk. It was while digitising these recordings that I also re-discovered many other exciting pieces that had fallen by the wayside over the years. I thought it would be great to include some of these recordings in an expanded edition of ‘Holotropic Guitar’ as they were all recorded in the 90s and share the same adventurous sonic world that I had back then.

While remixing I wanted to strike a balance between keeping the integrity of the original recording and improving the production quality. This meant in some cases adding some extra guitar and keyboard overdubs, sometimes in order to change a mono part into stereo, or to finish off and give extra depth to a recording. Some of the drum and bass parts have been re-recorded courtesy of Andy Edwards and Jack Humphries, which was a necessity in a few cases where the original MIDI data was missing or corrupted. The music has now been mixed with the quality and attention to detail that just wasn’t possible with the studio technology I had available to me 20 years ago. ‘Holotropic Guitar’ sits firmly alongside my first 2 albums as a representative showcase of my musical world in the 90s, and it is very much of that era in its sounds and influences. I’m happy to be able to share all that again with you in this new expanded edition.

Phi Yaan-Zek, The Long Mynd, Shropshire, May 2020.


released November 6, 2020


Phi Yaan-Zek: guitar, bass, keyboards, glockenspiel, tanpura, percussion, voices, drum programming, sampling & sequencing

Andy Edwards: drums on tracks 1, 8 & 11
Jack Humphries: bass on tracks 4, 8 & 11
al-Tabasi: additional percussion & invocations on track 2
Matt Williams: turntable manipulation on track 9
Oberon Rex: drums on track 9
Lalle Larsson: keyboard solo on track 11
Todd Duane: second guitar solo on track 11

All compositions by Phi Yaan-Zek
Originally recorded by Phi Yaan-Zek at Fozzie Studios 1991-94, Terrorbox Studios 1994-96 and Cydonia Studios 1996-99.
New drums recorded by Andy in Grumpy’s Shed and new bass parts recorded at home by Jack during May & June 2020.
Additional overdubs and mixing by Phi at Sylvan Studios 2019-20.

Mastered by Tim Debney at Fluid Mastering

Album catalogue number: AOWDL011


all rights reserved



Phi Yaan-Zek UK

Join in the playful otherworldly psychedelic prog jazz fusion musical adventures of Phi Yaan-Zek and his band of merry mutant music making friends.

contact / help

Contact Phi Yaan-Zek

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account